The preliminary round of the 2018 World Cup final ended and the set of stages was established, with the top 24 in a battle for a title shot at BlizzCon.

The group is divided into four groups of six, each competing under the patronage of the host country:

South Korea:

  • Russia
  • Finland
  • Chinese Taipei
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • Hong Kong

United States:

  • Canada
  • Austria
  • US
  • Brazil
  • Switzerland
  • Norway


  • China
  • Australia
  • Sweden
  • Thailand
  • Spain
  • Denmark


  • UK
  • Poland
  • Italy
  • Germany
  • Netherlands
  • France

China was the first non-host country in the preliminaries, with an average capacity of 4485, one point behind South Korea with a high rating. The United States is also very close to the top of the stack in 4446, when France was in 4293, while Thailand was far from 3959, which is excluded from the group stage if a state was not a guest. Canada, which I mentioned personally because I live there, was in fourth place (with the exception of the host countries) with an average SAR 4269.

The actual procedure for group participation will not start until August: First, the process of creating the Competition Commission, which you will see as general manager and a coach and a community leader is chosen to chair the team of each country. Applications submitted to the coach and the main functions of the forum are open to anyone (there is a link to the World Cup World Cup site application), and players can from countries eligible to vote for a number of candidates as much as they want for each function. GM’s selection process is more complex: applications must be sent directly by email to Blizzard, which will determine GM for each country directly.

South Korea came out on top of the 2017 World Cup, but Canada also kicked. Read all about it here.